The Eleventh Hour

I awoke from a dream on the morning of 11/12/2020.

I step out of my parents’ home and into the garage. My oldest brother, Mark, is there to mend the fascia on the roof. As he opens the garage door, I see there are four doors instead of two.

My “inside only” cat, Bobo, runs out. I chase after him into the yard, but I am unable to capture him and I give up. I go inside and see he’s there laying on the tile floor and realize I’d been chasing the wrong cat.

I walk into the kitchen and see we have 3 cats. One is laying inside the sink. There is a drawing of a slate grey owl on the counter top. As I peer at it, I draw devil horns coming out of its head.

Next, I step outside to check on my brother’s handiwork. He is at the Northeast corner of the house, but I walk out to the Southeast corner. Here I find a fruiting vine running up the house. The leaves of the vine are plentiful, lush and green. Surprisingly, I find the vine producing the most pristine lemons I’ve ever seen. They are large, flawless. As I gaze upon them, I wonder, “What will I make of them? Lemonade?”

I look up and I see a rainbow in the shape of a halo above me in the sky, accompanied by fluffy clouds. As I stare in amazement, I yell at Mark to look. He tells me it’s called a “Southern Belle.”

Big fluffy clouds have formed to the left of where I stand, near the direction that the sun will set. There is a deep hole in this blanket of clouds covering the sky.

It seems like it’s afternoon, but the light of the sun begins to fade quickly as if someone was pushing a dimmer switch down. I joke to him and say, “Will this be like the three days of darkness?”

At these words, the light fades completely to the blackest of black. Nothingness.

I see a meme with text and newsprint on the back of my eyes that says: “Blessed are the meek.” I open my eyes to my little wooden clock. The hands point to eleven and twelve. It’s the Eleventh hour.

And the Lord said unto Moses, Stretch out thine hand toward heaven, that there may be darkness over the land of Egypt, even darkness which may be felt. And Moses stretched forth his hand toward heaven; and there was a thick darkness in all the land of Egypt three days: They saw not one another, neither rose any from his place for three days: but all the children of Israel had light in their dwellings.

Exodus 10:21-23